|
previous  1-25 ]26-50 ]51-75 ]76-100 ]  next
Hardcore ladders

Author Posting
I'm sure we all want to argue which mode is best, but the truth is, what we think is best is what we are used to playing.

I may seem unknown to you, and I should, since I've pretty much never played in ESL. But the only reason as to why I'm still new to this league is because of the lack of HC ladders. Look around, try to find any league with HC ladders. There are some, TWL is one, but it's U.S based so that's a no go, for me at least.

So what is stopping ESL from adding HC ladders? Other than pride and hatred against "camping", I see no real reason.

Some argue that camping rewards players in hardcore. Yeah perhaps, but only because they are smarter than you. If you take Counter Strike as an example,  since when was camping not rewarding? It's a part of the game, "defense", "defending", you know. Just like in BF3, it is a part of the game.

Let me just spontaneously list a few things about each mode so we can compare.

Normal mode:
* Halo shield (Well, who needs 3-4 headshots with an M4A1 or two hits with a bolt action sniper to die? You guessed it: Halo.)
* Health Regeneration (Oh, so why is there a medkit? For ranking up?)
* Vehicle Health Regeneration (Hey, is this a sci-fi game? I guess they won't need engineers in the future then.)
* 3D Spotting (removed on ESL, but it's still meant to be there)
* Crosshair (even though we have lasersights and ADS, a huge useless crosshair on the screen is fine too)
* Health indicator on HUD
* Bullet count indicator on HUD
* Spawn on anyone in your squad (Squad leader is officially, useless; and so is a couple of tactics)

Hardcore mode:
* Team damage (Unable to shoot through my teammate to hit an enemy without being an ass to my team)
* Barely any HUD
* Camping (or rather, defensive play)
* Squad leader (Squad leader can spawn on anyone in squad, but the rest can only spawn on him/her. This calls for tactical thinking, go figure.)